Social Work (Web Resources)

What are you trying to find?


Social Work Web Resources

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

  • National Association of Social Workers
    The site includes links to information on research on a wide variety of topics in social work including child welfare, ethics and homelessness. It also includes NASWJOBLINK, a social work career center.
  • Child Welfare Gateway Information
    The site "provides access to information and resources to help protect children and strengthen families." It includes information on "a wide range of topics from prevention to permanency, including child welfare, child abuse and neglect, foster care, and adoption."
  • HUDUSER
    This is a "source for research and data that offers an in-depth view of housing in the United States." It provides "free downloads of more than 1,000 publications and data sets published by HUD’s Office of Policy Development & Research."
  • Rural Assistance Center
    "A product of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ Rural Initiative, the Rural Assistance Center (RAC) was established in December 2002 as a rural health and human services "information portal." RAC helps rural communities and other rural stakeholders access the full range of available programs, funding, and research that can enable them to provide quality health and human services to rural residents."
  • SAMHSA's National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information
    Site maintained by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
  • American Public Human Services Association
    Resource site for human service and welfare agency professionals.
  • Association of Social Work Boards
    The Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) is the association of boards that regulate social work. ASWB develops and maintains the social work licensing examination used across the country and in several Canadian provinces, and is a central resource for information on the legal regulation of social work.
  • National Center for Health Statistics/FastStats
    Faststats A-Z "provides health statistics and links to additional sources of information."
  • DHHS Administration on Aging
    The website of the United States Department of Health and Human Services, Administration on Aging.
  • Centers for Medicare & Medicaid
    From the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, "administers Medicare, Medicaid, and the Children's Health Insurance Program. Provides information for health professionals, regional governments, and consumers.
  • Health Resources and Services Administration
    The website of the United States Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration.
  • Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
    The website of the United States Department of Health and Human Services, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.
  • Green Book
    From the U.S. House Ways and Means Committee, "The Green Book provides updated data and information on programs within the Committee's jurisdiction, such as Medicare, Social Security, Unemployment Compensation, Foster Care and welfare. Additionally, it includes a discussion of related issues, such as the well-being of the elderly and of children and families. Since its first publication in 1981, the Green Book has become a valued reference guide for legislators, administrators, researchers and interested citizens."



The Social Work Research Guide is maintained by Jennifer Smith. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457