Philosophy & Religious Studies (Reference Items)

What are you trying to find?


Philosophy & Religious Studies Reference Items

The following are recommended Reference titles available from Steely Library

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

Credo Reference E-books

A complete reference collection from over 50 publishers, powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers - and new connections - in context.
Share this Resource:
http://library.nku.edu/databases/credoreferenceebooks.html


  • Encyclopedia of Philosophy
    B51 .E53 2006

    This ten-volume encyclopedia contains over 2,100 entries covering philosophical topics and major figures in philosophy.
  • Concise Encyclopedia of Western Philosophy
    B51 .C66 2005eb
    (electronic book)
    This one-volume resource provides a comprehensive overview of Western philosophy.
  • Ethics
    BJ63 .E54 2005eb
    (electronic book)
    REF BJ63 .E54 2005
    (print version)
    This three-volume encyclopedia contains over 1,000 essays on all aspects of ethics.
  • Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals, & Festivals
    BL31 .E47 2004

    This one-volume encyclopedia includes numerous entries detailing the rituals practiced by various cultures from around the world, as well as the major concepts associated with rituals.
  • Oxford Companion to World Mythology
    BL312 .L44 2005

    This resource covers the major aspects of mythology, including important cultural traditions and mythological figures and motifs. It also includes information about significant mythologists and the study of myth.
  • Encyclopedia of Religion & War
    BL80.3 .E53 2004

    This one-volume encyclopedia explores the historical and contemporary relationship between religion and war from a global perspective, with entries on significant concepts, conflicts, and regions of the world.
  • Encyclopedia of Women & Religion in North America
    BL458 .E52 2006eb
    (electronic book)
    This resource contains approximately 150 lengthy entries detailing the role of women in the practice and development of various religions in North America.
  • Hutchinson Dictionary of World Religions
    BL31 .H88 2005eb
    (electronic book)
    This dictionary includes numerous definitions for important terms and figures associated with world religions.
  • Concise Rules of APA Style
    BF76.7 .C66 2005
      (Steely Public Service Desk)
    A concise version of the APA rules for formatting and citation.
  • The Chicago Manual of Style
     Z253 .U69 2010

    The official Chicago style manual.
  • MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
     LB2369 .G53 2009
      (Steely Public Service Desk)
    The official MLA style manual.
  • Pocket Dictionary of Church History
     BR 95 .F345 2008

    "The Pocket Dictionary of Church History is designed to help students identify the people, places, events, movements and ideas that checker the story of the church through the ages. (amazon.com)
  • Global Dictionary of Theology: A Resource for the Worldwide Church
    BR 95 .G56 2008

    This resource features "approximately 250 articles written by over 100 contributors representing the global spectrum of theological perspectives". (Barnes and Noble.com)
  • New Westminster Dictionary of Church History
    BR 95 .W496 2008

    This volume (v. 1.) contains the history of the early, medieval, and Reformation eras.
  • Handbook of Biblical Criticism
     BS 511.3 .S68 2001

    "This book is for beginning and intermediate students in the critical study of the Bible, and can be used as both a dictionary and as a guide to acquire an initial overview and orientation to the field of biblical criticism." (Barnes and Noble.com)
  • The Oxford handbook of biblical studies
    BS511.3  .O94  2006eb

 



The Philosophy & Religious Studies Research Guide is maintained by Nancy Campbell. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457