Music (Web Resources)

What are you trying to find?


Music Web Resources

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

  • Classical Net: The Internet's Premier Classical Music Source
    Classical Net
    features more than 8500 pages including over 5500 links to other classical music web sites.
  • All Music Guide
    "As the name suggests, a very comprehensive guide to all forms of pop, rock and related music."
  • Jazz: A History of America's Music
    "The companion site to the PBS film Jazz by Ken Burns. This page features biographies of nearly 100 premiere artists in the field of jazz music, from Louis Armstrong to Lester Young."
  • The Mozart Project
    "This site contains biographical information, extensive composition lists, essays by Mozart scholars, and more."
  • Music Web Sites by Subject
    This site from the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County "is an impressive popular collection of web sites devoted to all types of music. It is organized by topics ranging from General Music and Jazz to Classical and Blues. The Directory also provides sites on Copyright and Licensing, as well as links to pages devoted to song indexes, lyrics databases, digital sheet music archives, music trade publications, regional interests, and more."
  • Stearns Collection of Musical Instruments
    Holding over 2,500 pieces of historical and contemporary musical instruments from all over the world, the Stearns Collection of Musical Instruments is one of the largest accumulations of such artifacts housed in a North American university.
  • #1 Song on this Date in History
    The site allows you to look up Billboard’s #1 song on specific dates in history going back to the 1940s.

 



The Music Research Guide is maintained by Jennifer Smith. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457