Medieval Studies (Web Resources)

What are you trying to find?

Medieval Studies Web Resources

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo, and Dacapo catalogues of over 258,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk, and Chinese music. While listening, users can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database.
Additional Software Needed:

Audio playback requires Adobe Flash Player
Mobile Versions:

Naxos Music Library Mobile iPhone App

Naxos Music Library Mobile Android App


This database is limited to five (5) simultaneous users.  Please remember to log out of the Naxos Music Library instead of just closing your browser or searching another website when exiting this database.
Share this Resource:

  • NetSerf
    Features annotated listings of web sites dealing with the Middle Ages. Catagorized by topic: archaeology, architecture, art, Arthuriana, civilizations, culture, drama, history, law, literature, music, paleography, people, philosophy, religion, science & technology, women — and don't overlook the Research Center.
  • The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies
    "The Labyrinth provides free, organized access to electronic resources in medieval studies through a World Wide Web server at Georgetown University. The Labyrinth's easy–to–use menus and links provide connections to databases, services, texts, and images on other servers around the world."
  • Medieval History
    "Offers original articles and features about medieval history, plus annotated links to selected relevant Internet resources, compiled by a subject specialist, a subject–specific bulletin board, and details of related news and events." (BUBL)
  • Internet Medieval Sourcebook
    From the Fordham University Center for Medieval Studies, a source for Medieval documents, secondary sources, maps and images, bibliographies, and much more.
  • Best of History Web Sites: Medieval History (Middle Ages)
    Designed "to provide quick, convenient, and reliable access to the best history–oriented resources online in a wide range of categories."
  • eHistory: Middle Ages History
    From the Department of History at The Ohio State University, you can find articles, biographies, a glossary, timelines; information on books & literature, and military.
  • The Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies (ORB)
  • From the College of Staten Island: SUNY, ORB "is a peer-reviewed site seeking to aid instructors and students of medieval studies. The ORB Encyclopedia features links to other Web sites, as well as informative essays and bibliographies by scholars. It is divided chronologically (Early, High, and Late Middle Ages) as well as by topic." (Association of College & Research Libraries)
  • Voice of the Shuttle: Anglo Saxon & Medieval
    From the University of California, Santa Barbara, an incredible selection of English literature links, from Feudalism to Chaucer to Heraldry, to ...
  • Luminarium: Anthology of English Literature
    "A comprehensive anthology and guide to English literature of the Middle Ages, Renaissance, Seventeenth Century, Restoration and Eighteenth Century."
  • Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscript
    From the Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies at the University of California, Los Angeles, this site is "designed to enable users to find fully digitized manuscripts currently available on the web."
  • The Online Medieval & Classical Library
    A "collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization."
  • Index of Medieval Manuscripts
    "This database allows the user to locate references to specific medieval manuscripts in a significant corpus of printed texts, including basic studies of French and English literature from the high and late Middle Ages."
  • Medieval Illuminated Manuscripts
    From Koninklijke Bibliotheek, the National Library of the Netherlands, a "web catalogue of a major collection of medieval illuminated manuscripts."
  • DScriptorium
    "[D]evoted to collecting, storing and distributing digital images of Medieval manuscripts."
  • Decameron Web
    "A growing hypermedia archive of materials dedicated to Boccaccio' masterpiece." From Brown University.
  • Medieval Theatre
    A collection of articles and a link to purchase books on medieval theatre.
  • The Directorie of Renaissance Faires
    A guide to "Renaissance Faires, Medieval Festivals and related reenactments, with locations, times, dates, prices, weather and maps."

The Medieval Studies Research Guide is maintained by Allen Ellis. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457