Medicine & Nursing (Articles)

Search for Medicine & Nursing Articles:

edsmn

What are you trying to find?


Medicine and Nursing Articles in Magazines, Journals, and Newspapers

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

  • CINAHL with Full-Text

    CINAHL with Full Text is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for more than 3,100 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 2.9 million records dating back to 1981.
    Provided by the KYVL.
    Subject Headings:
    Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)
    Mobile Version:
    CINAHL with Full-Text Mobile

    Coverage:

    Full-text coverage 1981 - present
    Tutorials:

    View CINAHL with Full-Text Tutorials

    Share this Resource:
    http://library.nku.edu/databases/cinahlfulltext.html

  • Cochrane Library

    The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. In addition to Cochrane Reviews, The Cochrane Library provides other sources of reliable information: other systematic reviews abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials.

    • Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews;
    • Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE);
    • Cochrane Central Cegister of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL);
    • Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews;
    • Cochrane Methodology Register;
    • Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA);
    • NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED) 

    Mobile Version:
    Cochrane Library Mobile (EBSCOhost)

    Alternative Access:

    Cochrane Library (EBSCOhost)

    Tutorials:

    View Cochrane Library Tutorials

    Share this Resource:
    http://library.nku.edu/databases/cochranelibrary.html

  • MEDLINE in EBSCO

    Indexes biomedical journals using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Topics include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and per-clinical sciences.
    Mobile Version:
    MEDLINE in EBSCO Mobile

    Share this Resource:
    http://library.nku.edu/databases/medline.html

  • PsycARTICLES

    A database of full-text articles from about 61 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. The database includes all substantive material from the print journals but does not include nonarticle content such as ads, covers, editorial board lists, and the like.
    Mobile Versions:

    PsycARTICLES Mobile

    Share this Resource:

    http://library.nku.edu/databases/psycarticles.html

  • PubMed

    PubMed comprises over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
    Subject Headings:
    Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)
    Mobile Versions:
    Pubmed Mobile

    Share this Resource:
    http://library.nku.edu/databases/pubmed.html

  • Scopus

    Scopus is a large abstract and citation database which covers 15,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 international publishers. The majority of the publications are in science fields, however humanities and social sciences are represented. It also includes coverage of:

    • Over 1200 Open Access journals
    • 500 Conference Proceedings
    • Over 600 Trade Publications
    • 200 Book Series

    Scopus contains millions of records, of which 16 million records include references going back to 1996 (75% include references), and 17 million pre-1996 records go back as far as 1841. Scopus also covers 386 million quality web sources, including 22 million patents. Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources.
    Mobile Versions:

    Scopus Alerts (Lite) (mobile iPhone App)

    Coverage:
    1841 - present, updated bimonthly
    Share this Resource:
    http://library.nku.edu/databases/scopus.html

  • Statistical Insight

    Provides access to: statistical information; indexing and full text statistical data from U.S. government publications from 2004 (indexing from 1973), state and private sources from 2007 (indexing from 1980), and international organizations from 2007 (indexing from 1980); and visualization tools.
    Mobile Version:

    Statistical Insight Mobile
    Coverage:
    1973 - present
    See also:

    ASI [American Statistics Index] (print index)
    Share this Resource:
    http://library.nku.edu/databases/statisticalinsight.html



The Medicine & Nursing Research Guide is maintained by Robert Zai III. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457