Current Events & Issues; News (Books & Media)


What are you trying to find?


Current Events and Issues; News: Books & Media

How to Find books, videos, and other materials in Steely Library.

Quick Current Events Book Search:

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

For locating specific items, including videos in the Media Collection, using the library's catalog, NKUIRE, is recommended. Keyword, Author, Title, and Subject are among the ways you can search.

For Non-Print Media (videos, DVDs, CDs, slides, etc.), Consider the "Media Searches" tab atop the NKUIRE search page.

WorldCat is the world's most comprehensive bibliography, with more than 49 million bibliographic records representing 400 languages. Covers information from 2100 B.C.E. to the present. Includes holdings information from libraries across the world. Now includes the Library of Congress Subject Headings as its thesaurus. If Steely Library does not own a title, it may be requested through SourceFinder.

Browsing for books in Steely's Reference and Circulating collections can be very useful


Current Events, the following call number areas are suggested for browsing:

  • HM - Sociology (broad general sources that may include sections on your topic)
  • HN - Social Problems, Social Reform
  • HQ - Family and Marriage Issues, Women
  • HT50-1499 - Communities and Social Classes
  • HT1500-1595 - Race Related Issues
  • HV551-645 - Disasters and Refugees
  • HV697-4630 - Social Issues related to special populations such as the Disabled, Teenagers, the Aged, etc.
  • HV4700-4959 - Animal Rights
  • HV5001-5840 - Substance Abuse
  • HV6000-9960 - Criminology

If you are researching current events in a particular subject area, for example new developments in the treatment of cancer, browsing in additional call number areas may be helpful. To identify additional areas for browsing in the book collection, refer to the Books & Media tab in other Research Guides. Here are a few that are often used for current event topics:


New Sociology titles in the library catalog, NKUIRE.



The Current Events and Issues; News Research Guide is maintained by Leslie Hammann. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457