Steely Library phone number: 859.572.5457
Anthropology (Web Resources)
What are you trying to find?
Anthropology Web Resources
The Web has a variety of sites useful to the Anthropology student. Here are just a few recommended ones:
- The Anthropological Index Online
"[P]rovides a bibliographic reference service to scholars in all branches of anthropology and archaeology." "[B]ased on the journal holdings of The Anthropology Library at the The British Museum (formerly Museum of Mankind) which receives periodicals in all branches of anthropology, from academic institutions and publishers around the world."
- AcademicInfo Anthropology Gateway - Directory of Online Anthropology Resources
"Includes: digital publications, cultural & social anthropology, physical & biological anthropology, archaeology, Kennewick Man resources, as well as a listing of anthropology organizations."
- The Ur-List: Web Resources for Visual Anthropology
"[F]acilitates web searches by cross-indexing three hundred and seventy-five anthropological sites according to the categories of information they contain. From the Center for Visual Anthropology at the University of Southern California.
- Intute, Best of the Web: Anthropology
"[P]rovides free access to high quality resources on the Internet. Each resource has been evaluated and categorised by subject specialists based at [United Kingdom] universities."
- ArchNet's Virtual Library of Archaeology
From the Archaeological Research Institute at Arizona State University, with information organized by subject heading and geographic regions.
- The Institute of Human Origins
Arizona State University’s, 'Institute of Human Origins (IHO) conducts, interprets and publicizes scientific research on the human career. IHO's unique approach brings together scientists from diverse disciplines to develop integrated, bio-behavioral investigations of human evolution. Through research, education, and the sponsorship of scholarly interaction, IHO advances scientific understanding of our origins and its contemporary relevance. Combining interdisciplinary expertise and targeted funding, IHO fosters the pursuit of integrated solutions to the most important questions regarding the course, cause and timing of events in human evolution.'
- The American Folklife Center
"Ethnographic Resources related to Folklore, Anthropology, Ethnomusicology, and the Humanities." From the Library of Congress.
- RACE - Are We So Different
A project of the American Anthropological Association that explores the concept of race amongst different peoples. Includes interactive pages, a blog following the experiments and infographs.
- World Directory of Minorities and Indigenous People
"The World Directory of Minorities and Indigenous Peoples is the internet's leading information resource on minorities around the globe. It is produced by Minority Rights Group International."
- The NKU Museum of Anthropology
"Founded in 1976 by Dr. James Hopgood, the NKU Museum of Anthropology serves as an educational, research, and conservational unit of Northern Kentucky University with responsibilities in selected areas of archaeology and ethnology. Through its mission, the Museum contributes to knowledge of and promotes the appreciation of the diversity and richness of human cultures and societies."
- Anthropologists & Sociologists of Kentucky
"This group is comprised of anthropologists and sociologists from Kentucky colleges and universities although any other anthropologist and sociologist with an research interest or connection to Kentucky is welcome." (Facebook)
- American Anthropological Association
"The American Anthropological Association (AAA), the primary professional society of anthropologists in the United States since its founding in 1902, is the world's largest professional organization of individuals interested in anthropology."
- Central States Anthropological Society
"The Central States Anthropological Society (CSAS) of the American Anthropological Association was founded in 1921 to promote the cause of anthropology by means of a closer fraternization of persons interested in anthropology in the central US."
- Worldwide Email Directory of Anthropologists
"[A] searchable database of address and research information about anthropologists from around the world."
Steely Library phone number: 859.572.5457